Research Fellows

The Faculty of Fine Art, Music and Design offers both artistic and scientific PhD programmes. Research fellows play an important role in the faculty’s research environment. Our aim is to create a meeting point between the various research traditions.

Research Fellows at the faculty

Research fellows who have been accepted on an artistic basis are affiliated with the Norwegian Artistic Research Fellowship Programme. During the autumn 2018 UiB established its own arts-based PhD programme in association with a national research school which shares the same academic foundation as the current Artistic Research Fellowship Programme. 

Research fellows in musicology and music therapy are affiliated with the Grieg Research School in Interdisciplinary Music Studies [TR1] , as are research fellows in Music Performance and Composition.

Image: detail from Tao G. Vrhovec Sambolec's research project 'Rhythms of Presence'


Research Fellows

Previous Research Fellows

Use the links beow to download the former fellows' critical reflections. 

Faculty of Fine Art, Music and Design:

Thorolf Thuestad (KU, music): dispositioned 2022
Craig Wells (KU, music): dispositioned 2022
Kjetil Møster (KU, music): dispositioned 2021
Sabine Popp (KU, fine art): dispositioned 2021
Fredrik Rysjedal (design): dispositioned 2019
Tine Grieg Viig, (music, academic Ph.d.), 2018
Ingrid E. Hagen  (KU, music): dispositioned 2018
Albert Cheng-Syun Tang (design) dispositioned 2017
Hildur Bjarnadóttir (fine art): dispositioned 2017
Tao G. Vrhovec Sambolec (fine art): dispositioned 2017 

The previous Bergen Academy of Art and Design (all Artistic Research):

Michelle Teran (fine art): dispositioned 2016
Ellen Røed (fine art): dispositioned 2014
Patrik Entian (fine art): dispositioned 2014
Pedro Gómez-Egaña (fine art): dispositioned 2012
Kjell Rylander (fine art): dispositioned 2012
Linda Lien (design): dispositioned 2011  
Caroline Slotte (fine art): dispositioned 2011
Trond Lossius (fine art): dispositioned 2007

The Grieg Academy – Department of Music (pre-KMD):

Else Olsen Storesund - dispositioned 2016 (KU)
Anna Helle-Valle - dispositioned 2016 (Ph.d.)
Annabel Balean Guaita - dispositioned 2015 (KU)
Ruben Sverre Gjertsen - dispositioned 2014 (KU)
Lars Tuastad - dispositioned 2014 (Ph.d.)
Hans Petter Solli - dispositioned 2014 (Ph.d.)
Silje Valde Onsrud - dispositioned 2013 (Ph.d.)
Nicholas Ssempijja - dispositioned 2012 (Ph.d.)
Viggo Krüger - dispositioned 2012 (Ph.d.)
Audun Myskja - dispositioned 2012 (Ph.d.)
Tunca Arican - dispositioned 2011 (Ph.d.)
Jostein Gundersen - dispositioned 2010 (KU)
Per Åsmund Omholt - dispositioned 2009 (Ph.d.)